This page contains either a download link to the malware or is a malicious website that is still active. Malware Wiki shall bear NO responsibility for any damage that you may cause to your machine by running the download or going to the site.
Lose/Lose is a very dangerous joke program game designed to run on Mac OS X systems. When played, each enemy killed by the player deletes a random file from the user's computer, of any kind (documents, games, applications, pictures, icons, users, videos, music, folders, shortcuts, and even important system files). It even skips the recycling bin, meaning that any infected file is not recoverable. Over 200 players have had files deleted from their computer by the game.
Versions of the game for Microsoft Windows have been released but they work differently. However, they can still delete important files on the user's computer, such as System32.
Running on a virtual machine will stop deleting files on the user's host computer if it has shared folders enabled and connected, even if it is Windows or Linux. It is possible to have the host operating system be destroyed if the game is run for long and it successfully deletes a startup file.
Lose/Lose gained popularity after the popular YouTuber and Twitch streamer Joel from Vinesauce, who played the game in his Mac Destruction stream. An interview with Zach Gage and Intego explained that Gage actually made the game as part of an Australian digital art and Lose/Lose is meant to be taken in a philosophical manner.
When the user first enters the game, the game will warn them first about important files being deleted. All the text is highlighted in red or white font color. In the warning background, there are red dots on a black screen. Aliens will appear in blue, green, yellow, tan, pink, and other colors. The game will display text in the bottom square saying the user's name as well as documents. At the top it will say the score and points. The aliens have varies life bars before they are destroyed. Losing a life stock will completely deletes the program itself from the computer, being the safest way of playing the game. Knowing how the program runs, there is a chance that the program deletes itself while the user is playing, as its executable file is not safe from the game's deletion mechanic.
When the game is loaded, the main screen states that the game deletes files to warn the player of what they are about to do. Once any key is pressed, the game starts, and the player tries to kill the aliens and earn points. However, it deletes files upon doing so by running rm -r on a random file. If the player makes it very far in the game, it has the potential to even delete system files, and prevent the system from booting upon next reboot, resulting prohibitory symbol or folder with a question mark, forcing the user to ReInstall the operating system.